The Greatest Thing You’ll Ever Learn

Has nothing to do with loving or being loved in return.

What it is as far as I can tell is accepting the fact that: you might be wrong. Not that you are wrong but that it is a possibility. 

You are not infallible.

This is something I’ve learned from being just a little crazy. I’ve had to learn to accept that people aren’t always judging me, the world is not ending, people aren’t inherently bad, or good, or anything. 

In the darkest hours when it doesn’t seem like things will ever get better…I’m wrong.

In this acceptance of my potential wrongness I’ve realized that no matter how much you really believe something…you might be wrong.

I know people are going to take this the wrong way but the logical conclusion here is: religion. 

How ever much you believe in your religion (or science, for you atheists) the fact of the matter is that other people believe just as strongly as you do and given the nature of most belief systems that means that at least half of the human population is wrong.

I’m not trying to convince you not to believe what you believe because beliefs generally make people better and happier. What causes war and hate is the inability to conceive that you might be wrong…which means they might be right. If you can wrap your mind around this concept it opens a giant door for compassion.

Don’t take yourself too seriously. Maybe we’re all wrong.

One thought on “The Greatest Thing You’ll Ever Learn

  1. You’re spot on. In my opinion, we have this state of affairs because we are here primarily to observe. It’s very difficult to learn something new if you have an existing belief system about it (i.e. the only way to expand one’s mind is to suspend belief). Socrates said it best, “I know one thing; that I know nothing.”

Leave a Reply

